Partner Sites:  www.BOEmarine.com | www.ClubSeaRay.com | www.BandofBoaters.com

Go Back   CBAngler.com - Chesapeake Bay Angler - The Ultimate Fisherman's Resource > CBAngler Forums > General Discussion

View Poll Results: As experienced fishermen, do you mind giving advice to complete novices on this forum
No, not at all 4 100.00%
Yes, I don't have the time or patience for newbies 0 0%
Voters: 4. You may not vote on this poll

Old 06-06-2018, 02:30 PM

Default Beginner needs help

Just getting into the sport,,, I have my Dad's old rod (a Diawa graphite med action, 12-20 lb and 1-4oz lure weight) and a Penn 209 level wind reel with no info on it... I'd like to use it for trolling rock in med to deep water (20-70 ft) but don't know what line to use.. After watching some YouTube videos, I'm totally confused.. "backing", "topshot", "leader length", etc, etc.... I'm planning on using single rig bucktails with sassy shad and I'd like to try using an umbrella rig also.. I was thinking about 30lb braid and then just attach 50lb mono or floro as a leader... Am I on the right track? how much leader? I also ordered a RediRig to help with depth control,, where/how much, if any weight to use and where does it go on the rig? In short, I'm in need of all the advice/info I can get.. I'm just a beginner, but eager to learn
Old 06-06-2018, 03:17 PM

Default Newbie

I am not far from a newbie and have only been fishing in the Bay for about 5 years but have a lot of freshwater fishing experience, particularly fly fishing for trout.